Go–To Summer Makeup

Hey everyone!

So it’s been a fair way through summer and I’ve also recently been away, so I thought I would share with you my go to summer makeup look. Let me know down in the comments whether you want me to include the Mac equivalents of the brushes and products I use in my tutorials.

I always start off with a face SPF in the summer. I have been using the Ambre Solaire Sensitive Advanced Face Cream with SPF 50 and spreading a thin layer over my face and just down my neck. I make sure to blend it into my skin really well so it absorbs and isn’t sitting thick on my skin. You don’t want a sticky face SPF because any makeup you put on top is more likely to clump and look unnatural, especially powder.

I don’t want any thick layers on my skin, so I won’t be applying a full face a foundation. If you want a more full–face coverage you can use a BB cream or tinted moisturiser. I took my Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation in Light Porcelain and used it as a concealer. I blended it gently into any spots, blemishes or discolouration and patted down any smudges or seems using a flat concealer brush.

Next I like to buff a very thin layer of powder all over my face. You can use any powder you like. I tend to alternate between the Rimmel Stay Matte powder and the Collection 2000 Sheer Loose Powder. You can use any brush or a sponge. I either use a proper powder brush or a blush brush because they are softer and apply a thinner layer to your skin.

I don’t tend to apply bronzer, but if my face is looking a bit flat I will use the MUA bronzer shade 2. I apply this under my cheekbones, along the sides of my temple and just onto my forehead again using a blush brush.

Next is highlighting. I have been using the highlight powder from the Claire’s Natural Charm palette. I use another blush brush to apply this to the tops of my cheekbones and along my brow bone. I think.highlighting is very important in the summer to give your skin a healthy glow, but too much and you will just look very oily.

Now onto eyes. I don’t tend to do my eyebrows in the summer, unless im going out somewhere special, but that’s just because, for me, it isn’t an essential step. This summer I have been loving simple yet colourful eyes. I love to recreate the look im going to show you with so many different colours. Im going to show you the one I’ve worn most recently.

I start off with a base and I used the Meybelline Colour Tattoo in Eternal Gold and spread that over my lid and to just above my crease using my finger. Next on a flat shade brush I took a sheer white colour and patted this over the base. If you are going to want to blend the colours, you want to apply a ‘transition’ colour between those eyeshadows and the base. The base causes the colours to stick and they can become very hard to blend.

Using the Beauty UK palettes in 2 and 5, I created a soft purple smokey eye. I match the colour on the lid to the colour of eyeliner I am using. Using a flat shade brush I applied the white (5) to the inner third of my lid. Using the same brush and the No.2 palette, I put the purple (next to the yellow) in the centre third of my eye, and the other purple (below the pink) into the outer third. Using a small tapered blending brush I blending any harsh lines together. Using the tapered brush for the crease, I blended the grey (next to the white) into the inner half of the crease, and the more blue–toned grey (top right second across) into the outer half (palette 5). I then used the dark purple (palette 5) below the white to darken up my outer V and give dimension to my eyes. I blended this in with the tapered brush before using a large fluffy brush to blend any harsh lines over the entire eye. If you lose intensity of a colour you can always go back in again but remember to blend it out to keep it fairly soft.

For the eyeliner I do a medium thickness line with a wing at the end. For this I use the Collection 2000 fast stroke eyeliner. Sometimes in the summer I apply a little bit of black shadow over the liner with a small pencil brush to help it stay intense for longer. Under my eye I use the MUA gel eyeliner in underground (black). I apply this to my lashline and about 3mm under my eye, using the brush provided.

For the burst of colour I am using a purple liner. I start off with the Collection 2000 Extreme 24hour felt tip liner in 2Purple and create a thin line all way along the eye, just above the black eyeliner. To add intensity, I took the bright purple (under the pink) shade from the Beauty UK number 2 palette on a small pencil brush and traced the eyeliner line. Finally I take a white eyeshadow and put a small amount into my inner corner to open up the eye. You can also use a white eyeliner (I use MUA intense colour eyeliner in Snow White) on your waterline.

Finally for lips. For summer I love both intense and natural lips. Using a lip brush, I applied both the shades Celestial and Apocaliptic from the Rimmel Apocalips Lip Laquer range to my lips and blended them together.

Email: emmasaurusofficial@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

