How to dye your hair (Reader Question)

Hey everyone!

Today I thought I would answer a question I was asked via my email. The question was, “How do I dye my hair using Schwarzkopf Live XXL dye?”

Obviously the first thing I would say is to read the instructions that come with the hair dye. That explains everything you need to know. I’ve only ever dyed my hair myself, and the only way you can have the slightest idea on your first go is by following the instructions. They are there because they are meant to be read and used. I’m just going to go through what the instructions say, in a fair amount of detail, so expect this post to be rather long. But without rambling on too much, I’ll get straight into it.

Safety Instructions
The first thing you want to do is read the safety instructions. These are in the instruction booklet and on the side of the box. It basically has the headings, Do not colour your hair if:, Allergy Test, If during colouring you experience, If after colouring or on the following days you experience, and Precautions. I cannot stress enough how important it is to read the safety instructions properly.

Allergy Test
You want to perform an allergy test 48 hours before you attempt to dye your hair. Even if you have used the exact same product (like I have) before, you should still do an allergy test because you can still develop allergies to the dye over time. It’s really easy to do aswell. All you have to do is apply a thin layer of the Colour Creme on the inside if your elbow. Leave it uncovered for 45 minutes. After 45 minutes you rinse it off and wait 48 hours to see if there are any symptoms of a reaction. All this information plus more in inside the instruction booklet.

Preparation
Before application you want to cover your clothes. I have a separate shirt I use for dying my hair, and then a separate towel which I also put around my neck. I also apply a thin layer of Petroleum Jelly around my hairline, ears and neck to make it easier to remove any staining to my skin. You also want to always wear gloves to prevent staining. It also says to apply to dry, unwashed hair, so I always dye my hair when it needs a wash which tend to be after 2 or 3 days after it’s last wash.

Contents
The box contains the instruction leaflet and the gloves which can be found attached to the inside of the instructions. There should also be the Applicator Bottle which contains Developer Lotion. Then you should have your tube of Colour Creme and a sachet of After Treatment. The after treatment is just basically a conditioner and used to come in a small tube like the colour creme. Also before dying your hair, check that the number on the colour creme tube corresponds with the number of the hair dye shade on the box (mine is Ultra Violet 76).

Mixing
You want to unscrew the lid of the developer bottle and pierce the top of the colour creme tube using the pin on the reverse of the lid. Squeeze the entire tube of colour creme into the developer bottle. Replace the nozzle of the bottle and shake vigorously until completely mixed together. The colour in the bottle will not look like the colour it comes out. The dye mixes to a pinkish red but dyed purple.

Application
Twist off the tip of the applicator nozzle and immediately start application. You want to squeeze the mixture into your hair in small amounts and work through with your hair (make sure you have gloves on!) Make sure you massage the mixture from the roots to the very tip and don’t forget to do every section of your hair! Leave to develop for 30 minutes (the development time may vary). There are also instructions in the leaflet of how apply the dye if you are just re–dying your roots.

Rinsing
Once the development time has finished, work your hair into a lather with warm water. Rinse out thoroughly until the water runs clear, and remember to massage around your hairline to remove staining.

After Treatment
Towel dry your hair and massage in some of the After Treatment and leave for a couple of minutes, then rinse thoroughly.

They recommend redying every 4 weeks but I tend to do my just whenever I feel I want to refresh the colour. It’s up to you if or when you redye.

I hope this post helped you, and if you have any questions please leave them down in the comments!
XxxX Emma

Email: emmasaurusofficial@gmail.com
YouTube (message): http://www.YouTube.com/emmasaurusofficial

One thought on “How to dye your hair (Reader Question)

Leave a Reply

