Self Harm Awareness – Interviews

Hey Everyone.

I know it’s been a long time since Self-Injury Awareness Day, but I’ve not had time to get all my notes together and write them up. Basically, for SIAD I did one or two Interviews about it. It was a great experience and I’d love to do it again.

#1

When did you start self harming? In Year 7, so when I was about 12yrs

Why did you start self harming? I don’t remember right at the start. I remember that it began to get really bad when I found my friendship groups splitting.

How did you harm? Burning.

Have you stopped self harming? If so, what made you want to stop? Sadly, no.

What is one thing you wish people knew about self harming? That it’s not always suicidal or attention-seeking.

What is something you would like to tell someone who is currently harming and/or trying to stop? It does get better, you just have to let it. I’m getting there, and no matter what stage you are at, you will get there too.

#2

When did you start self harming? I was about 11yrs

Why did you start self harming? I was having family problems, school problems, friend problems and everything just seemed to keep adding up and overflowing.

How did you harm? It started with scratching but progressed to cutting

Have you stopped self harming? If so, what made you want to stop? Not completely. On average I will scratch when my anxiety flares up, and cut maybe every couple of months. – Just the fact that I hated seeing all the scars on my body. I didn’t want to have to explain it to my children at such an early age. At least with the amount I have, they are managable to hide.

What is one thing you wish people knew about self harming? All most people need is someone to trust – someone who supports them. No one needs names or bullying, and selfharmers aren’t freaks. They aren’t ‘meant for mental hospitals’.

What is something you would like to tell someone who is currently harming and/trying to stop? There are always people out there who will listen and help you. Whether they are friends, family, or professionals – and not everyone who will be help to you will have been through it themselves. A huge part of recovery is believing you can do it.

If you would like to contact me on any of the issues raised in this post or any other issues, please feel free to contact me on: emmasaurusofficial@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

